Brand story

Storytelling for scaredy-cats: Are you wearing brown trousers or a red shirt?

Do hope and self-confidence drive us, or do insecurity and fear determine our behaviour? Fear is probably our most effective emotion, our instinctive protection and survival mechanism that keeps us from starving to death or being eaten by other creatures, struck by lightning or washed away by stormy seas. - Dangers that have long since ceased to surround most of us. Nevertheless, fear is more popular than ever before.


TOO LAZY TO READ ON? THEN LISTEN TO ME:

In the blogcast, I read this recent blog article to you. With emphasis, of course!

Click on the button below to download the content from w.soundcloud.com.

Load content


Listening to the public conversation, there's no doubt: fear dominates us and our times. Insecurity seems to be the dominant zeitgeist in the world. Even through our part of the world, where the vast majority of us are not exposed to any real or even acute threat scenario.

But fear takes many forms:
Fear of the Corona virus.
Fear of the climate crisis and environmental disasters.
Fear of terror.
Fear of the foreigner and of strangers.
Fear of the food that makes us sick.
Fear of the digital that robs us of our jobs.
Fear of the pensions that we unfortunately won't get after all.
Fear of what could be, even if it's usually not the case.
Fear of the realisation that we have missed something - FOMO.
Fear of making a wrong decision that makes everything much worse.
Fear of failure.
Fear of failure.
Fear of what others will say.
Fear of loss.
Fear of the loss of belonging.
Fear of losing relevance.
Fear of the unknown par excellence and of the sky falling on our heads.

Fear protects us.
Fear sharpens us.
Fear pushes us.

The best thing we can do when we want to bring something to the people - ideas, cars, chocolate - is obviously and naturally to activate a fear, the fear-variant list is well stocked - see above. Fear is the best trigger, because:
Fear brings attention.
Fear brings voters.
Fear brings conflict and clicks and money.

But not only.

Fear makes us lose our minds and our future.
Fear holds us back.
Fear makes us small.
Fear drives us on and drives us apart.

Yes, fear strangely drives us apart, although we clearly know since "Avengers" at the latest that we can even defeat the Chitauri and achieve any other goal if we bring our individual special abilities together and steer in one direction. We don't even have to be friends for that (although that would be better and more fun anyway).

What helps us get over this destructive fear? I think it is courage.

Dress code for scaredy-cats.

Two generals stand on their commander's mound and look out into the field where enemy troops are massing. The number of enemies is growing rapidly, and one does not have to be a military strategist to soon realise with the naked eye that their numbers are turning into a breathtaking superiority. In the face of this situation, perplexity spreads through the general staff when one of the two generals instructs his adjutant: "Bring me my red shirt!"
To which the adjutant replies, "Yes, General, but if you don't mind my asking, why do you need your red shirt right now?"
"If I wear my red shirt and am wounded in battle, my men will not see my blood, will continue to follow me and continue to fight!"
The second general then thinks for a moment and orders his aide-de-camp: "Bring me my brown trousers!"

Hm...
What do we wear when it gets tight?

What helps us get over the fear and into the red shirt? Courage helps us get over it, as John Wayne said: "Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway".

Only, where does this courage come from? What helps us into the saddle, anyway?

I think it's our story, because Tyrion from Game of Thrones is right: "What unites people? Armies? Gold? Flags? Stories! There's nothing in the world more powerful than a good story. Nothing can stop it. No enemy can defeat it."

What are we talking about with Story?

When we talk about story, no one knew better than Joseph Campbell: "Follow your bliss. If you do follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while waiting for you, and the life you ought to be living is the one you are living. When you can see that, you begin to meet people who are in the field of your bliss, and they open the doors to you. I say, follow your bliss and don't be afraid, and doors will open where you didn't know they were going to be. If you follow your bliss, doors will open for you that wouldn't have opened for anyone else."

When we talk about it, when we talk about story, then suddenly the future looks like hope again and doesn't smell like the clutch grinding with the handbrake on, like everyone against everyone, like Ichichich, or even like brown trousers....

Provided we talk about the right things in Story, Story gives us strength and courage - as people, as teams, as companies and as a society.

This requires encouragers.

But who could be such an encouragement? John Wayne, perhaps?

I think it's you.

You are the general in the red shirt. Because I am too. Any one of us could be. We could be the Avengers , and if we want, we could even be friends.

First and foremost, it is companies with their phenomenal momentum of communicative possibilities and real effectiveness with which they can encourage and otherwise also a lot. More and more people see that they should also do this.

According to the international Edelman Earned Brand Study, 53% of respondents agree that brands can do more to address social ills than governments; nearly half say brands also have better ideas to do so;
64% say CEOs should initiate positive change, not wait for governments to mandate it;
54% believe it is easier to get brands rather than governments to initiate societal improvements. No wonder, politicians have been skipping their jobs for many years as leaders into a world as it could be, as innovators and creators, as projectors of images of the future that excite and attract. That attract people and not brown trousers.

Brand story can really work.

This new understanding is catching on with a growing number of companies, as I can already tell from the questions I am asked by clients and potential clients.

Many people are looking for simple, quick answers to drive their sales curve upwards. For them, there is a proven effective answer: lower the price! That will work tomorrow, maybe even the day after tomorrow.

Most, however, ask differently. They want the turnover curve to stay up and their company to remain resilient - that is, resistant despite the unpredictable developments of the time. Price is not an argument for this. Nor is short-term success through staff savings, efficiency gains and the like, which can have its justification.

But there is also an effective answer to the new questions: A stable-elastic brand is created when the attitude of a company is right and is carried by the idea of usefulness, a usefulness that goes beyond the factual solution of a task, far beyond debit and credit.

It has to do with the culture of a company and how it thinks about itself and its importance and what relationship it wants to have with its audiences. That has an effect from the day after tomorrow, maybe even tomorrow.

As a rule, this requires a painful move out of the comfort zone, a departure from the familiar world, as it is called in the Hero's Journey. The urgent desire for positive change, the realisation of urgent necessity. Those who do not understand this and do not want it, should lie down and wait until death comes. It will come, just a little patience, perhaps until the day after tomorrow.

What it takes.

For people and organisations who want to work with me, I have therefore put together an operating manual that describes what is absolutely necessary. It also applies, mutatis mutandis, to those who do not work with me because it is necessary.

It takes:

  1. Your commitment to something new and the willingness to actively engage with it! Don't continue on the same path as before, only faster, or extend the present into the future - just retell it. Do something new!
  2. Your declared will to build up the nutrient-rich humus for a long-term powerful, resilient brand. This does not bring short-term effects, but development towards elastic stability, substance and resilience.
  3. Your commitment to work with story away from the storytelling hype that only clings to form, frame and dramaturgy. Go into the space, work holistically, paint the picture. Only this will really bring you the substantial success you desire. - Welcome to the no-bullshit zone!
  4. Your commitment to the readiness for a transformation from within, not just a change of presentation.
  5. The clear understanding that you have to work on your so-called purpose, on your deep concern or that of your company and your brand, because that is where the story is rooted. After that, and through it, the business with all its economic success comes into being.
  6. A clear understanding that it's about substantive work on corporate and brand management, not content for communications or advertising campaigns, or developing sales pitches.

Some companies then understand that they want something different from what I recommend and lower the prices.

Many courageously say "Yes!" and we walk the path together.

Some say "Yes!" but hope that it won't be as bad as I say. But it will.

Departure - uncomfortable, but necessary.

Because the operation "get out of the comfort zone" sounds reasonably bearable until you realise that the comfort zone is wrapped in a thick protective layer. It consists 100 per cent of fear.

Out of fear of the unknown.
Out of fear of what could be, even if it's usually not the case.
Fear of the realisation that we have missed something - FOMO.
Fear of making a wrong decision that makes everything worse.
For fear of failure.
Out of fear of failure.
For fear of what others will say.
Out of fear of loss.
Out of fear of the loss of belonging.
For fear of losing relevance.
Fear of the unknown par excellence.
Fear of the sky falling on our heads.

This thick cushion of fear feels like an airbag, but acts like a brake block, tied tightly around the comfort zone with two sturdy strings. One thread looks like a lack of self-confidence, the other like excuses. If we can manage to push these binding threads aside at least enough to create a narrow gap through which the light from the lighthouse of our heart can shine, then we will see that John Wayne and Viktor Frankl are waiting at the intersection of comfort zone and fear pad. John Wayne holds your saddled horse by the reins, Viktor Frankl a red shirt that is still a little too big for you, and he hands it to you with the words: "He who has a why to live, endures almost any how."

Then it's off - at a stretched gallop towards the lighthouse against which Joseph Campbell is leaning, with a jaunty "Follow your bliss" on his lips.

Welcome to the league of encouragers!

Story - beyond good and evil.

At this point we should not overlook one thing: Story is neutral, value-neutral. Because with the same momentum that is available to encouragers, fearmongers also achieve their goal. In an amazing way, they are often even more skilful, quicker and more perfect in their craft than the positive forces are capable of being. And particularly effective! Probably precisely because fear is our strongest primal instinct and can therefore be activated particularly easily.

No parricide, no grand swindler, no dictatorial terrorist - not even Hitler thought he was in the wrong. Every fear-monger in our history is the courage-monger in his own.

Even Nazis had/have - this must be known in all terrible clarity - a story that was perfect for them: precisely a clear value profile to which they committed themselves, a vision, a mission, their enemy from the outside ... abominable, but true.

With the story mechanic "We are the many, the morally superior, dominated by a powerful elitist minority" you can demand "America First" like Donald Trump, or introduce the Macintosh to the market like Appledid in 1984. A small group of righteous people fighting for liberation from the bondage of the all-dominant Big Brother IBM.

YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The brave good guys against the ruling fear power of the elite. That is the story mechanism of the Nazis, that is also the story mechanism of the Christians of 2,000 years ago. They are all firmly convinced that they are pursuing a mission, fulfilling their duty, at least doing what has to be done. Even if it requires sacrifices.

Story knows no good and no evil. - While the courageous put on their red shirts, there are still more than too many brown shirts loitering around in the dull chambers and causing fear. This requires massive counter-pressure, counter-courage.

Story - our human courage motor.

The ability to tell stories and thus to lead has been programmed into us humans by evolution. It is one of the most powerful tools at our disposal. The principles of story are very simple and universally valid, across generations and cultures. This is how Neanderthal man became Homo sapiens - Homo narrans - Homo ludens - Homo faber ...

Let us use this ability with all our strength and urgent responsibility. For no tool knows morality. What the hammer does is determined by the person; what is posted is determined by the user. Barack Obama has a Twitter account, as does Donald Trump.

Martin Luther King Jr. didn't have a Twitter account, but he did have the dream that one day "we" would mean "with each other" and perhaps one day there would even be a universal "for each other".

The keywords "economy" and "business" are not the next best backdoor into the excuse that one is not meant by it. After all, companies and the economy are not fat economic bosses and overpowering systems. "The economy" is us humans making choices in search of our meaning and purpose. We should demand more of ourselves than just doing our job well, because only then does our own meaning emerge - through shared values, shared longing, shared story.

"The planet no longer needs successful people. The planet desperately needs peacemakers, healers, innovators, storytellers and lovers of all kinds," says the Dalai Lama. By this he means both of us: you and me - a too-much-meaning.

Courage protects us.
Courage sharpens us.
Courage pushes us.
Courage brings attention.
Courage brings voters.
Courage solves conflict beyond clicks and money.
Courage does not hold us back.
Courage drives us and propels us towards each other.
Courage makes us great.
Courage needs brains.
Courage needs commitment, and commitment is the best come-along.
Courage makes with.
Courage makes courage.

Our disturbing times need stories, storytellers and even more: story sharers who give courage and take away fear. This is what makes us strong - as people, as companies, as a society. With the values of our story, with our cause, we lead our lives, we lead our teams and we lead into the future - if we find them, recognise them and share them.

Regardless of whether it is a global corporation, an SME or a heroic lone fighter as an EPU: every person, every brand, every company has and needs a strong concern beyond turnover, profit and market share and the story activated by the concern so that it remains resilient. If you don't have a magnetic concern as a living theme, there is only one other thing left: the price. And price here is just a short word for: brown trousers on sale .

So to all those who say, "It doesn't apply to me, and it certainly doesn't apply to my brand," I would urge you to consider the words my grandmother, old Story Dudette, wrote on John Wayne's bathroom mirror after a long night out with her fiery red lipstick: "No Story. No Glory."

Brandstory

Storytelling für Angsthasen: Trägst du eine braune Hose oder ein rotes Hemd?

Treiben uns Hoffnung und Selbstvertrauen an, oder bestimmen Unsicherheit und Angst unser Verhalten? Angst ist vermutlich unsere wirkungsvollste Emotion, unser instinkthafter Schutz- und Überlebensmechanismus, der uns davor bewahrt, zu verhungern oder von anderen Lebewesen gefressen, vom Blitz getroffen oder von stürmischer See hinweggespült zu werden. – Gefahren, die die meisten von uns längst nicht mehr umgeben. Dennoch steht Angst so hoch im Kurs wie selten zuvor. 


ZU FAUL ZUM WEITERLESEN? DANN HÖR MIR ZU:

Im Blogcast lese ich Dir diesen aktuellen Blogartikel vor. Mit Betonung, versteht sich!


Wenn ich dem öffentlichen Gespräch zuhöre, gibt’s keinen Zweifel: Angst beherrscht uns und unsere Zeit. Unsicherheit scheint überhaupt als dominierender Zeitgeist durch die Welt zu wehen. Sogar durch unseren Teil der Welt, in dem die allermeisten von uns keinem echten oder gar akuten Bedrohungsszenario ausgesetzt sind.

Aber Angst zeigt sich in vielerlei Gestalt:
Angst vor dem Corona-Virus.
Angst vor der Klimakrise und vor den Umweltkatastrophen.
Angst vor dem Terror.
Angst vor dem Fremden und vor den Fremden.
Angst vor dem Essen, das uns krank macht.
Angst vor dem Digitalem, das uns den Job raubt.
Angst vor den Renten, die wir leider doch nicht bekommen.
Angst vor dem, was sein könnte, auch wenn’s meistens dann gar nicht so ist.
Angst vor der Erkenntnis, dass wir etwas verpasst haben – FOMO.
Angst vor einer falschen Entscheidung, die alles noch viel schlimmer macht.
Angst vor dem Scheitern.
Angst vor dem Versagen.
Angst vor dem, was dann die anderen sagen.
Angst vor dem Verlust.
Angst vor dem Verlust von Zugehörigkeit.
Angst vor dem Verlust von Relevanz.
Angst vor dem Unbekannten schlechthin und vor dem Himmel, der uns auf den Kopf fällt.

Angst schützt uns.
Angst schärft uns.
Angst schiebt uns.

Das Beste, was wir tun können, wenn wir etwas unter die Leute bringen wollen – Ideen, Autos, Schokolade –, ist offenbar und naturgemäß, eine Angst zu aktivieren, die Angst-Varianten-Liste ist wohlbestückt – siehe oben. Angst ist der beste Trigger, denn:
Angst bringt Aufmerksamkeit.
Angst bringt Wähler.
Angst bringt Konflikt und Klicks und Kohle.

Aber nicht nur.

Angst bringt uns um den Verstand und um unsere Zukunft.
Angst hält uns zurück.
Angst macht uns klein.
Angst treibt uns an und treibt uns auseinander. 

Ja, Angst treibt uns seltsamerweise auseinander, obwohl wir doch spätestens seit „Avengers“ eindeutig wissen, dass wir sogar die Chitauri besiegen und auch sonst jedes Ziel erreichen können, wenn wir unsere individuellen besonderen Fähigkeiten zusammenbringen und in eine Richtung steuern. Dafür müssten wir noch nicht einmal Freunde sein (auch wenn das besser wäre und spaßiger sowieso).

Was hilft uns über diese destruktive Angst? Ich glaube, es ist Mut.

Dresscode für Angsthasen.

Zwei Generäle stehen auf ihrem Feldherrenhügel und sehen hinaus ins Feld, wo sich die feindlichen Truppen zusammenziehen. Die Zahl der Gegner wächst rapide, und man muss kein Militärstratege sein, um bald mit freiem Auge zu erkennen, dass ihre Zahl sich in eine atemberaubende Überzahl verwandelt. Angesichts dieser Lage verbreitet sich Ratlosigkeit im Generalstab, als der eine der beiden Generäle seinen Adjutanten anweist: „Bringen Sie mir mein rotes Hemd!“
Darauf der Adjutant: „Zu Befehl, Herr General, aber wenn Sie mir die Frage erlauben: Warum brauchen Sie gerade jetzt ihr rotes Hemd?“
„Wenn ich mein rotes Hemd trage und im Kampf verwundet werde, dann sehen meine Männer mein Blut nicht, werden mir weiterfolgen und weiterkämpfen!“
Daraufhin überlegt der zweite General einen Augenblick und befiehlt dann seinem Adjutanten: „Bringen Sie mir meine braune Hose!“ 

Hm …
Was ziehen wir an, wenn’s eng wird?

Was hilft uns über die Angst und ins rote Hemd? Mut hilft uns darüber hinweg, so wie John Wayne das sagte: „Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway.“ 

Nur, wo kommt denn dieser Mut her? Was hilft uns in den Sattel, trotzdem? 

Ich glaube, es ist unsere Story, denn Tyrion aus „Game of Thrones“ hat recht: „What unites people? Armies? Gold? Flags? Stories! There’s nothing in the world more powerful than a good story. Nothing can stop it. No enemy can defeat it.“ 

Wovon reden wir bei Story?

Wovon wir reden müssen, wenn wir von Story reden, wusste niemand besser als Joseph Campbell: „Follow your bliss. If you do follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while waiting for you, and the life you ought to be living is the one you are living. When you can see that, you begin to meet people who are in the field of your bliss, and they open the doors to you. I say, follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be. If you follow your bliss, doors will open for you that wouldn’t have opened for anyone else.“

Wenn wir davon reden, wenn wir von Story reden, dann sieht Zukunft plötzlich wieder so ähnlich aus wie Hoffnung und mieft nicht nach schleifender Kupplung bei angezogener Handbremse, nach jeder gegen jeden, nach Ichichich, oder gar nach brauner Hose …

Vorausgesetzt, wir reden bei Story übers Richtige, gibt uns Story Kraft und Mut – als Menschen, als Teams, als Unternehmen und als Gesellschaft. 

Dafür braucht es Mutmacher.

Nur, wer könnte denn so ein Mutmacher sein? John Wayne vielleicht? 

Ich glaube, Du bist es. 

Du bist der General im roten Hemd. Ich bin es nämlich auch. Jeder von uns könnte es sein. Wir könnten die Avengers sein und wenn wir wollen, sogar Freunde. 

Allen voran sind es Unternehmen mit ihrer phänomenalen Schwungmasse aus kommunikativen Möglichkeiten und reeller Wirksamkeit, mit der sie Mut machen können und sonst auch jede Menge. Dass sie das auch tun sollten, das sehen immer mehr Menschen so. 

Laut der international durchgeführten Edelman Earned Brand Study stimmen 53 % der Befragten der Aussage zu, dass Marken mehr zur Beseitigung sozialer Missstände beitragen können als Regierungen; fast die Hälfte sagt, Marken haben dafür auch die besseren Ideen;
64 % sagen, CEOs sollen positive Veränderungen einleiten und nicht darauf warten, dass sie von Regierungen angeordnet werden;
54 % glauben, es ist einfacher, Marken anstatt Regierungen dazu zu bringen, gesellschaftliche Verbesserungen in Angriff zu nehmen. Kein Wunder, denn Politiker schwänzen seit vielen Jahren ihren Beruf als Anführer in eine Welt, wie sie sein könnte, als Erneuerer und Gestalter, als Projektoren von Zukunftsbildern, die begeistern und anziehen. Die Menschen anziehen und nicht braune Hosen.

Brandstory kann wirklich wirken.

Dieses neue Verständnis erfasst eine wachsende Zahl von Unternehmen, wie ich schon daran feststelle, welche Fragen mir von Klienten und potenziellen Klienten gestellt werden. 

Viele sind zwar auf der Suche nach einfachen, schnellen Antworten, mit denen sie ihre Umsatzkurve nach oben treiben können. Für die gibt es eine bewährt wirkungsvolle Antwort: Senk den Preis! Das wirkt schon morgen, vielleicht auch noch übermorgen.

Die meisten aber fragen anders. Sie wollen, dass die Umsatzkurve oben und ihr Unternehmen resilient bleibt – also widerstandsfähig trotz der unvorhersehbaren Entwicklungen der Zeit. Dafür ist der Preis kein Argument. Auch nicht der kurzfristige Erfolg durch Personaleinsparungen, Effizienzsteigerungen und Ähnliches, das durchaus seine Berechtigung haben kann. 

Aber es gibt auch auf die neuen Fragen eine wirkungsvolle Antwort: Eine stabil-elastische Marke entsteht, wenn die Haltung eines Unternehmens stimmt und vom Gedanken der Nützlichkeit getragen wird, einer Nützlichkeit, die über die faktische Lösung einer Aufgabe hinausgeht, weit jenseits von Soll und Haben.

Das hat mit der Kultur eines Unternehmens zu tun und mit seinem Umgang, wenn es an sich und seine Bedeutung denkt und welche Beziehung es mit seinen Publikumsgruppen eingehen will. Das wirkt ab übermorgen, vielleicht auch schon morgen.

In aller Regel ist dafür ein schmerzhaftes Herausbewegen aus der Komfortzone nötig, ein Aufbruch aus der gewohnten Welt, wie es in der Hero’s Journey heißt. Der drängende Wunsch nach positiver Veränderung, die Einsicht zu dringender Not-Wendigkeit. Wer das nicht versteht und nicht will, soll liegenbleiben und warten, bis der Tod eintritt. Er wird kommen, nur noch ein wenig Geduld, vielleicht noch bis übermorgen.

Was es braucht.

Für Menschen und Organisationen, die mit mir arbeiten wollen, habe ich deshalb eine Betriebsanleitung zusammengestellt, die beschreibt, was unbedingt nötig ist. Sie gilt sinngemäß auch für jene, die nicht mit mir arbeiten, weil es nötig ist. 

Es braucht:

  1. Dein Commitment auf etwas Neues und die Bereitschaft, Dich darauf aktiv einzulassen! Gehe nicht den bisherigen Weg weiter, nur halt schneller, oder dehne die Gegenwart in die Zukunft aus – nur halt neu erzählt. Mach etwas Neues! 
  2. Dein erklärter Wille, den nährstoffreichen Humus für eine langfristig kraftvolle, resiliente Marke aufzubauen. Das bringt keine kurzfristigen Effekte, sondern Entwicklung zu elastischer Stabilität, Substanz und Widerstandskraft.
  3. Dein Commitment, mit Story abseits des Storytelling-Hypes, der sich nur an der Form, am Rahmen und an der Dramaturgie festklammert, zu arbeiten. Gehe in den Raum, arbeite holistisch, male das Bild. Nur das bringt Dir wirklich den nötigen substanziellen Erfolg, den Du Dir wünscht. – Willkommen in der No-Bullshit-Zone!
  4. Dein Commitment zur Bereitschaft für eine Verwandlung von innen heraus, nicht nur zu einer Veränderung der Darstellung.
  5. Das klare Verständnis, dass Du an Deinem so genannten Purpose, an Deinem tiefen Anliegen bzw. an dem Deines Unternehmens und Deiner Marke arbeiten musst, weil dort die Story wurzelt. Danach und dadurch entsteht auch das Business mit allem wirtschaftlichen Erfolg.
  6. Das klare Verständnis, dass es um die substanzielle Arbeit an der Unternehmens- und Markenführung und nicht um die Inhalte für die Kommunikation oder Werbekampagnen geht, oder um die Entwicklung von Sales-Pitches.

Manche Unternehmen verstehen dann, dass sie sich etwas anderes wünschen, als ich empfehle, und senken die Preise. 

Viele sagen beherzt „Ja!“, und wir gehen den Weg gemeinsam. 

Einige sagen „Ja!“, hoffen aber, dass es dann doch nicht so schlimm wird, wie ich sage. Wird es aber.

Aufbruch – unbequem, aber nötig.

Denn die Operation „Raus aus der Komfortzone“ klingt so lange einigermaßen erträglich, bis man bemerkt, dass die Komfortzone in eine dicke Schutzschicht eingewickelt ist. Sie besteht zu 100 Prozent aus Angst.

Aus Angst vor dem Fremden.
Aus Angst vor dem, was sein könnte, auch wenn’s meistens dann gar nicht so ist.
Aus Angst vor der Erkenntnis, dass wir etwas verpasst haben – FOMO.
Aus Angst vor einer falschen Entscheidung, die alles schlimmer macht.
Aus Angst vor dem Scheitern.
Aus Angst vor dem Versagen.
Aus Angst vor dem, was dann die anderen sagen.
Aus Angst vor dem Verlust.
Aus Angst vor dem Verlust von Zugehörigkeit.
Aus Angst vor dem Verlust von Relevanz.
Aus Angst vor dem Unbekannten schlechthin.
Aus Angst vor dem Himmel, der uns auf den Kopf fällt.

Dieser dicke Angstpolster fühlt sich wie ein Airbag an, wirkt aber wie ein Bremsklotz, der mit zwei stabilen Bindfäden fest um die Komfortzone gebunden ist. Der eine Faden sieht aus wie mangelndes Selbstvertrauen, der andere wie Ausreden. Wenn wir es schaffen, diese Bindfäden wenigstens so weit zur Seite zu schieben, dass ein schmaler Spalt entsteht, durch den das Licht vom Leuchtturm unseres Herzens fallen kann, dann sehen wir, dass an der Schnittstelle von Komfortzone und Angstpolster John Wayne und Viktor Frankl warten. John Wayne hält dein aufgesatteltes Pferd am Zügel, Viktor Frankl ein rotes Hemd, das dir noch ein wenig zu groß ist, und er überreicht es dir mit den Worten: „Wer ein Warum zu leben hat, erträgt fast jedes Wie.“

Dann geht’s los – im gestreckten Galopp auf den Leuchtturm zu, an dem Joseph Campbell lehnt, mit einem munteren „Follow your bliss“ auf den Lippen. 

Herzlich willkommen in der Liga der Mutmacher!

Story – jenseits von gut und böse.

An dieser Stelle sollten wir eines nicht übersehen: Story ist neutral, Wert-neutral. Denn mit demselben Momentum, das Mutmachern zur Verfügung steht, erreichen auch Angstmacher ihr Ziel. Sie sind in einer verblüffenden Weise oft noch geschickter, schneller und handwerklich perfekter als die positiven Kräfte das zu sein vermögen. Und besonders effektiv! Vermutlich eben deshalb, weil Angst unser stärkster Ur-Instinkt ist und deshalb besonders leicht aktiviert werden kann.

Kein Elternmörder, kein Großbetrüger, kein diktatorischer Schreckensherrscher – nicht einmal Hitler hatte den Gedanken, er sei im Unrecht. Jeder Angstmacher in unserer Geschichte ist der Mutmacher in seiner eigenen.

Selbst Nazis hatten/haben – das muss man in aller schrecklicher Klarheit wissen – eine für sie perfekte Story: eben ein eindeutiges Werteprofil, dem sie sich verpflichten, eine Vision, eine Mission, ihren Feind von außen … abscheulich, aber wahr.

Mit der Story-Mechanik „Wir sind die Vielen, die moralisch Überlegenen, die von einer mächtigen elitären Minderheit beherrscht werden“ kannst du wie Donald Trump „America First“ fordern, oder wie Apple 1984 den Macintosh am Markt einführen. Eine kleine Gruppe Gerechter, die für die Befreiung aus der Knechtschaft des alles dominierenden Big Brother IBM kämpft.

Die mutigen Guten gegen die herrschende Angst-Macht der Elite. Das ist die Story-Mechanik der Nazis, das ist genauso die Story-Mechanik der Christen von vor 2.000 Jahren. Sie alle sind fest davon überzeugt, sie verfolgen eine Mission, erfüllen ihre Pflicht, tun jedenfalls, was nun einmal getan werden muss. Auch wenn es Opfer verlangt.

Story kennt eben kein Gut und kein Böse. – Während sich die Mutmacher ihre roten Hemden anziehen, lungern in den dumpfen Kammern noch immer mehr als zu viele Braunhemden herum und machen Angst. Das braucht massiven Gegendruck, Gegen-Mut.

Story – unser menschlicher Mut-Motor.

Die Fähigkeit, Geschichten zu erzählen und damit zu führen, hat die Evolution uns Menschen einprogrammiert. Sie ist eines der mächtigsten Werkzeuge überhaupt, das uns zur Verfügung steht. Die Prinzipien von Story sind sehr einfach und universell gültig, über Generationen und Kulturen hinweg. So wurde der Neandertaler zum Homo sapiens – Homo narrans – Homo ludens – Homo faber …

Lasst uns diese Fähigkeit nützen, mit aller Kraft und dringlichst gebotener Verantwortung. Denn kein Werkzeug kennt Moral. Was der Hammer tut, bestimmt der Mensch; was gepostet wird, bestimmt der User. Barack Obama hat einen Twitter-Account, genauso wie Donald Trump.

Martin Luther King jr. hatte keinen Twitter-Account, aber den Traum, dass irgendwann „Wir“ „miteinander“ bedeutet und vielleicht sogar einmal ein universelles Füreinander entsteht.

Die Stichwörter „Wirtschaft“ und „Unternehmen“ sind nicht die nächstbeste Hintertür in die Ausrede, man sei damit nicht gemeint. Unternehmen und Wirtschaft sind nämlich nicht fette Wirtschaftsbonzen und übermächtige Systeme. „Die Wirtschaft“ sind wir Menschen, die auf der Suche nach unserem Sinn und unserer Bestimmung Entscheidungen treffen. Dabei sollten wir mehr von uns verlangen als nur unseren Job gut zu machen, denn erst dann entsteht unser eigener Sinn – über geteilte Werte, geteilte Sehnsucht, geteilte Story.

„Der Planet braucht keine erfolgreichen Menschen mehr. Der Planet braucht dringend Friedensstifter, Heiler, Erneuerer, Geschichtenerzähler und Liebende aller Arten“, sagt der Dalai Lama. Damit meint er uns beide: Dich und mich – eine Zu-Mutung.

Mut schützt uns.
Mut schärft uns.
Mut schiebt uns.
Mut bringt Aufmerksamkeit.
Mut bringt Wähler.
Mut löst Konflikt jenseits von Klicks und Kohle.
Mut hält uns nicht zurück.
Mut treibt uns an und treibt uns aufeinander zu.
Mut macht uns groß.
Mut braucht Verstand.
Mut braucht Commitment, und Commitment ist das beste Komm-mit-ment.
Mut macht mit.
Mut macht Mut.

Unsere verstörenden Zeiten brauchen Storys, Storyteller und noch mehr: Story-Sharer, die Mut machen und Angst nehmen. Das macht uns stark – als Menschen, als Unternehmen, als Gesellschaft. Mit den Werten unserer Story, mit unserem Anliegen, führen wir unser Leben, führen wir unsere Teams und führen wir in die Zukunft – wenn wir sie finden, erkennen und teilen. 

Egal ob Weltkonzern, ob KMU/kleine und mittlere Unternehmen, oder heldenhafte Einzelkämpfer als EPU: Jeder Mensch, jede Marke, jedes Unternehmen hat und braucht ein starkes Anliegen jenseits von Umsatz, Gewinn und Marktanteilen und die durch das Anliegen aktivierte Story, damit es resilient bleibt. Wenn du kein magnetischen Anliegen als lebendiges Thema hast, bleibt dir nämlich nur noch ein einziges anderes: der Preis. Und Preis ist hier nur ein kurzes Wort für: braune Hosen im Sonderangebot. 

Allen, die also sagen: „Für mich gilt das nicht und für meine Marke schon gar nicht“, seien jene Worte ans Herz gelegt, die meine Großmutter, die alte Story Dudette, John Wayne nach einer langen Nacht mit ihrem feuerroten Lippenstift auf den Badezimmerspiegel schrieb: „No Story. No Glory.“